Cutting Weight Is Harder Than The Fight

I’m 24 hours away from weigh-ins, my stomach is grumbling, I’m fatigued and light-headed, and feeling like an angry bear. The last meal I will eat until Saturday morning was dinner on Thursday. Since then, not a single thing has passed my lips, and nothing will until after I get weighed. Welcome to the world of weight-cutting.

Earlier this year, in preparation for his fight against Ryan Bader, Quinton “Rampage” Jackson tweeted “…cutting weight is harder than the fight.”  I re-tweeted him because I whole-heartedly agree. Jackson went on to miss his weight by 6 pounds and was criticized harshly by the media.

There are tons of articles out there in cyber world about cutting weight, so I’m just adding my 2 cents in. And this is also kind of my way to vent out my frustration and distract my mind a bit while I’m feeling miserable and drained.

I usually walk around at about 7 pounds from my ideal fighting weight. Unfortunately a few weeks ago I sustained an injury that prevented me from doing some specific workouts and the weight started packing on. Last week I weighed in at whopping 15 pounds away from my fighting weight. Crap!

My nutritionist and I immediately sat down to work out a meal plan for my week of weight cutting. From then till now, I’m taking in just enough calories to keep my energy level up for a specific amount of training; my usual portions of carbs and protein adjusted to fit my training needs so I can meet my weight target.

On top of having to cut 15 pounds in 11 days, I checked the calendar and realized, much to my horror, that the day of weigh-ins is right smack in the middle of my monthly cycle where I naturally retain water and gain 5 pounds during any given month. So doing the math meant I would have to prepare to lose 20 pounds in 11 days. Arrrrrrrrgh!!!!!!

Growing up with an older brother who wrestled in school, I was no stranger to weight-cutting. I’ve seen him go through all the process, been right beside him wearing a plastic jogging suit in the sauna and riding a stationary bike to sweat it out. I grew up around all this and have always accepted it as part of competitive combative sports.

However, once I started to cut weight, I realized that there is a significant difference between men and women cutting weight. Through evolution, a man’s body was made for battle, whereas a woman’s body was made for childbearing. I’m not going to get into the nitty gritty details of how our bodies are made up differently, suffice it to say that the body of a woman is made up to retain a certain amount of fat and our hormones play into a lot of what goes on with the female body. During our monthly cycle, most women tend to retain a certain amount of water and will gain weight. It sucks, but it’s part of what I take into consideration for my training and fight preparation.

Gina Carano famously didn’t make weight for a few big matches, and wasn’t able to renew her contract to fight at 140 pounds again. Cris Cyborg failed to make weight in Japan against Hitomi Akano. Both women used their period as an excuse. Ok, as a woman, I know this is a real issue, not some made up B.S. However, I know when my period will be here, it’s not like I get surprised when it happens. It happens every single month at a somewhat predictable schedule, so I train and adjust my diet so that it can’t affect me that much. Surely these superstar MMA fighters have a team of people working on them and know everything about their body.

I firmly believe that part of my responsibility as a fighter is to make weight. No excuses. It shows discipline and dedication for the sport; it shows that I respect my coaches, my training partners, and my opponent that I take each fight seriously.

Cutting weight is a delicate process, and should never be done alone. Always have someone who can supervise you. I will explain my weight-cutting process in awhile. First, I want to make sure that everyone reading this knows this isn’t some get-skinny-quick scheme to fit into your wedding dress. It’s not a fad diet to slim down for a bikini photo shoot. This is a drastic measure to drop a significant amount of weight quickly for a very short period of time, and then be replenished immediately after.

Weight cutting is basically manipulating the water in your body. I usually only have to start cutting weight about 48-72 hours before weigh-ins. However, with 20 pounds to drop, and still needing to train, I had to start my process about 10 days before getting weighed.

This is my personal program that has worked well for me. Assuming a Saturday morning weigh in:

2 weeks prior – start adjusting meal portions to slightly smaller than normal

5 days prior – start a low sodium diet. smaller portions of carbs (enough just to sustain me) and lean protein

3 days prior – start a no sodium diet. If I’m still training, then I stick with above food portions, if I’m not training, then meals are cuts in half. Water intake for the day is about 3 gallons

Thursday night – last meal and water. And take a diuretic to flush out my system. Last drink of water at 10pm. Water intake for the entire day is about 2 gallons

Friday – no training. No water, no food, no sodium whatsoever. Nothing goes into my mouth

Saturday 6am – hit the sauna to sweat out the last few pounds. If I really feel like I’m going to pass out, then I will take a small capful of pure coconut water, just enough to wet my tongue. (do NOT go to the sauna alone, always have someone with you for emergency)

After weighing in, everyone rehydrates and replenishes their body differently. Some people can easily chug down a liter of water without getting sick. Some people need to take tiny sips of water every few minutes until they are rehydrated. I take small mouthfuls of coconut water until I know my body will accept it and I won’t get sick. I also eat small portions of carbs every 30 minutes until I feel normal again. Since my stomach has been empty for so long, eating a huge amount all at once, very little of that food will be used as energy; the food would just sit in my stomach, heavy and unused, making me feel very bloated and extremely uncomfortable. Most people make that mistake after they weigh in. It’s best to replenish your body by eating a little at a time, about every 30 minutes. That way your body will have the opportunity to digest and burn up the food.

Again, this is what personally works for me. Please remember to never do any of this alone. I have a nutritionist who looks after everything that I eat and drink. I have a training partner who goes to the sauna with me, in case I start passing out. At no point during weight-cutting am I alone. And I run everything by my nutritionist and medical professional.

I’d love to hear from other athletes who cut weight before a competition. What are some tips or tricks that have been effective for you, or haven’t worked out so great?

Email: shirleygirley15@gmail.com

http://www.facebook.com/GirleyShirley15

Follow me on twitter @ShirleyGirley15

“Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion” – Muhammad Ali